Home | Register | Contact Us

Certifying Agencies

These are some of the agencies that can certify your small or diversity-owned business. Please contact the agencies directly for further information.

SBA (U.S. Small Business Administration)
 The applicant firm must be a small business, must be unconditionally owned and controlled by one or more socially and economically disadvantaged individuals who are of good character and citizens of the United States, and must demonstrate potential for success.
 To participate in the HUBZone Empowerment Contracting Program, a concern must be determined to be a "qualified HUBZone small business concern." A firm can be found to be a qualified HUBZone concern, if:
  • It is small

  • It is located in an "historically underutilized business zone" (HUBZone)

  • It is owned and controlled by one or more U.S. Citizens

  • At least 35% of its employees reside in a HUBZone
 There are several different applications for various business legal structures. Each legal structure has its own application page.
 View Regional Councils
 View State Links
 NWBOC: (National Women Business Owners Corporation)
 Certification Criteria:
  • 100% of the assets of a sole proprietorship,

  • at least 51.0% of the equity interests in a partnership,

  • at least 51.0% of each of the classes of voting stock and 51.0% of the aggregate of all stock outstanding determined by the percentage that would be distributed to the woman if the corporation was liquidated; or

  • at least 51.0% of the membership interests in a limited liability company.
  • 100% of the control of a sole proprietorship;

  • at least 51.0% of the control of a general partnership;

  • woman owner is the general partner and, if there is more than one general partner, the managing general partner, of a limited partnership or limited liability partnership; or

  • The woman owner is entitled to appoint a majority of a corporate board of directors.

  • A woman or women is the sole manager, able to appoint unconditionally the majority of managers of a manager managed LLC or has 51.0% control of a member managed LLC.
 WBENC: (Women's Business Enterprise National Council)
 Certification Criteria:
  • Fifty-one percent ownership by a woman or women

  • Proof of effective management of the business (operating position, by-laws, hire-fire and other decision-making role.)

  • Control of the business as evidenced by signature role on loans, leases and contracts

  • US Citizenship or US Resident Alien Status
 Association for Service Disabled Veterans:
 The applicant firm must be able to verify ownership and control of their business by Service Disabled Veteran (SDV) Individuals. Records, documents and other supporting information deemed necessary will be reviewed to establish eligibility for SDVB classification.
Contact Webmaster     ©2024 diversitybusiness.com, All rights reserved.    Privacy | Terms of Use